• Emma

    Dear Mr. President,

     My name's Emma and my English teacher has warned us you'll soon be having a conference about global warming. That is why I thought I'd let you know a bit more about my thoughts concerning this international issue.

     

    Global warming has become an emergency, we all know that. We need to act now or the consequences will be irreversible. I'm sure you are already aware of this, but have we all really realized what is going to happen if we do nothing ? Have we taken the measures needed to save our Mother Earth ?

     

    What I'm about to tell you are my proposals, my advice, and mostly my questions, which of course reflect my opinion and only mine :

    Protecting nature shouldn't be so expensive, it shouldn't be so hard to adopt « good » ways of life : hybrid cars, solar panels, environmentally friendly houses, it all sounds right, doesn't it ? It's a shame it's too hard to afford for most people !

    Besides, how many campaigns to make people aware of the danger threatening us have we made so far ? And if we made any, don't you think the fact that people have forgotten about them shows they weren't convincing enough ? Is deforestation really forbidden where it should be ? Is the consumption of energy controlled in every city ? Is it so hard to make a change ?

     

    I'm going to tell you what we 've done so far : we've let people choose sides, considering actions to stop global warming as an option, while it should have been a duty to everyone ! Because we can't deny it anymore !

    We, young people and soon citizens, want to know we can live a healthy and peaceful life, without having to take care of problems former generations left behind them such as hyper consumerism.

    Of course, I'm just a 14 year old girl giving you a piece of advice, and you probably have much better things to do. You're intelligent, powerful, and I shouldn't be the one who tells you that. Or should I ? It's, as you say « Time for Change », and we, the younger part of the population, represent change. We all need to become responsible, including every 14 year old boys and girls. And together, even if the changes appear too hard to make, we'll be stronger. Together, we'll make things easier, and possible.

    We're all part of it. And if we really believe in what we stand for, then, who knows ? Anything could happen. And my last piece of advice is :

    Mr President, we musn't give up.

    With all my respect,

     Emma.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :